Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Selfies. Selfies everywhere. Society today has discovered the art of selfie-taking, and it looks like it’s here to stay. How egocentric and narcissistic have we become that we think people actually want to look at our faces?! Edited to the last, don’t we look flawless? There is nothing real or natural about a selfie, especially when posted on Instagram.

I can’t talk, I am partial to a selfie every now and then. By now and then I mean every two months or so. I find it boosts confidence a little, you can derive some pleasure from it, being able to make yourself look more tan, or that little bit prettier but my problem lies with you egotists! yes, you!

Thankfully, I have unfollowed the vast majority of you all, but there was a time where I followed people who posted the same selfie every. single. day. The same position, the same vacant expression and the same vapid personality. Adding a plethora of #followme hashtags, and deleting them as soon as you get 50+ likes. We can see what you’re doing! It’s mind-numbing and just plain boring to be honest. One person in particular, who was just off the narcissistic radar, who took the absolute biscuit in selfie taking, has inspired me to write this. Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Every night. Sometimes the same selfie tweeted THREE times in one night. What the fuck makes you think I want to see your tits all the time? Get a job and be more productive.